Rejected By My Mother, I Find Hope And Healing In My Readers

Amy Punt
5 min readJun 9, 2022
Orange cat in the middle of an abandoned building
Photo by Alex Quezada on Unsplash

Compassion from strangers is providing a foundation of care I never received.

I’ve been applying for full-time employment, and it’s hard and I’m tired and I just can’t handle putting myself out there every day and never hearing back. I mean, I get it. No one likes rejection and that’s just part of the job hunt, so I need to toughen up.

But I’m not going to toughen up. Also, I’m not going to stop writing about my trauma and that could be hurting my chances with potential employers. Everyone is saying it’s an employee’s market right now, but I’m not seeing that. And whether or not that has anything to do with the content of my Medium posts, I may always believe that every failure or loss of opportunity relates, at least in part, to the sharing of my abuse.

And it may or it may not. But as a survivor of child sexual abuse and adult sexual assault, we often feel that everything we touch turns to shit and nothing truly good or life-changing can ever happen to us. I want desperately to be loved and accepted for me, all of me. And that includes a potential employer. But who would take a chance on me now?

I’m on a journey to take my feelings seriously, value my time, effort, passions, and abilities, and spend my time…

--

--

Amy Punt

Writing about Personal Growth, Trauma, Recovery and the cultural moments that reflect our hidden traumas.